Poets in Nigeria (PIN) is pleased to announce the shortlist for the 7th edition of the Nigerian Students Poetry Prize (NSPP).

The shortlisted entries, in no particular order, are as follows:

  • METAPHOR FOR CARTOGRAPHY | Ayoade Olamide (Olabisi Onabanjo University, Ago-Iwoye)
  • WHERE LONELINESS COMES FROM | Raheemah Olawuyi Olabimpe (University of Ilorin)
  • A NATION IN LABOUR | Joseph Peter Akpan (University of Uyo)
  • WHY MY LOVER’S ROOM IS BEREFT OF BRITTLE ITEMS | Younglan Talyoung (University of Jos)
  • I REALLY AM A METAPHOR FOR GRIEF | Mahbubat Kanyinsola Salahudeen (University of Ibadan)
  • RESURRECTION | Joshua Okon Effiong (University of Calabar)
  • THE VOYAGE | Chinualumogu Ofodile Godsent (Nnamdi Azikiwe University, Awka)
  • HOME AS A THRENODY | Olowonjoyin Muhammed Sanni (University of Ilorin)

According to Luz Maria Lopez, a member of the NSPP 2022 Jury including Prof. Sunny Awhefeada, Iquo DianaAbasi, Kukogho Iruesiri Samson and Oguntoyinbo Shola Phebian: “Nigerian poetry is powerful and beautiful. It is the voice of the mother nation, the echo of past barbarities, the voice of reconstruction and stories yet to be born. It is the faith in a world that must forcibly lead new ways with social justice, morality and brotherhood.”

Instituted in 2016 to promote literary excellence amongst Nigerian undergraduates, the prize has had six grand prize winners – Noah Oladele, Obafemi Awolowo University, Ile-Ife (2016); Bakre Fadil Adedamola, University of Ibadan (2017); Godstime Tamunofiri Iberiyenari, Niger Delta University, Wilberforce Island, Yenagoa (2018); Ogugua Micah Okoye, Enugu State University of Science and Technology (2019); Okwubi Godwin Adah, University of Benin (2020); and Samuel A. Adeyemi, Federal University, Lokoja (2021).

The prize winners (top three entrants) and consolation prize winners of this current edition will be announced at the NSPP Awards (during Feast of Words 2022) slated for Saturday 10th December, 2022 at Eriata Heights, Ikorodu, Lagos (10 AM).

Kolade Olanrewaju Freedom
Moderator, NSPP 2022

Leave a Reply