CALL FOR ENTRIES -- ERIATA ORIBHABOR POETRY PRIZE 2016Words Rhymes & Rhythm Publishers (WRR Ltd) and Something for Everybody Ventures (SFEV) have announced the call for entries to the 2016 edition of the annual Eriata Oribhabor Poetry Prize (EOPP).

The Prize, which started in 2012, is in its fifth year. Participating poets must be Nigerians resident in any part of the world.

Announcing the call for entries at a press briefing in Abuja, on Monday 18th of July, the Chief Executive Officer, Words Rhymes & Rhythm, Kukogho Iruesiri Samson, said the prize is dedicated to promoting literary excellence in Nigeria.

A total of N80,000 cash will be awarded to the winners – N50,000 for the  Winner, N20,000 for the First Runner-up and N10,000 for the Second Runner-up, he revealed.

“The underlying idea of this Prize is to engage Nigerian young poets creatively, thereby empowering them to develop their creativity towards literary excellence,” he said.

He also revealed the Judging Panel for the EOPP 2016, chaired by prolific Nigerian poet and Chief Operating Officer of WRR, Kolade Olanrewaju Freedom, with French poet and promoter of African Poetry, Brigitte Poirson, and Nigerian poet and Sickle Cell awareness campaigner, Awodiya Funke, as members.

Speaking at the briefing, Prize Patron, Eriata Oribhabor, noted the uniqueness of the prize which is the singular poetry prize dedicated to young Nigerian poets.

“This prize was instituted because I realized that the aspect of getting youths engaged is very important. One of the best ways to keep the creative and educative tempo among the youths is by initiating literary activities. This has been the driving force for my passion for promotion of literature,” he said.

The Chair of judges, who was also present at the briefing, said the EOPP has fast become the leading platform for the discovery, encouragement and celebration of poets in Nigeria

According to Kolade, “The EOPP is about youth engagement, poetic excellence, reward, and motivation. It is as much about identifying and celebrating the unrecognized literary talents as promoting the Nigerian culture through poetry.”

Past winners of the prize are Nwakanma Chika (2012), Madu Chisom Kingdavid (2013), Darlington Ekene Ogugua (2014), Ajise Vincent (2015).

The rules and guidelines for entry are available at



Nigerian poet,author and Sickle Cell awareness campaigner, Awodiya FunkeAWODIYA ESTHER FUNKE is a Nigerian poet and social campaigner. Though a native Ilesha in Osun State, she was born in Nigeria’s economic capital, Lagos, where she currently resides. Awodiya holds a Bachelors degree in Sociology from the University of Ado Ekiti, now Ekiti State University, and a Masters Degree from the University of Ibadan, Ibadan. She is the Initiator SAFE DREAMS INITIATIVE which is dedicated to Sickle Cell awareness. Awodiya is also a member Poets in Nigeria (PIN) and the Association of Nigerian Authors (ANA).

She recently unveiled her first poetry book THE FARMER’S DAUGHTER (poems on the borderline). She is committed to using poetry to positively impact people and societies worldwide.


Prolific Nigerian poet, Kolade Olanrewaju FreedomKOLADE OLANREWAJU FREEDOM is an award winning Nigerian poet who has authored two acclaimed poetry collections. Kolade is the Chief Operating Officer of Words Rhymes & Rhythm and the editor of Poets In Nigeria (PIN) Quarterly Journal.  His literary works have appeared in various anthologies and literary journals. Kolade was recently awarded Pentasi B Universal Inspirational Poet in Accra, Ghana.

He currently studies Communication & Language Arts at the University of Ibadan.


French poet and promoter of African Poetry, Brigitte PoirsonBRIGITTTE POIRSON is a former teacher and university lecturer in languages. Poirson has published 8 books in French and English, and has garnered numerous awards. She has been included in Who’s Who in the World.

She now promotes African literature with poetry anthologies or as an editor, and currently supports Words Rhymes & Rhythm, Nigeria’s largest online poetry platform and a publishing house. One of Nigeria’s most respected poetry competitions, the Brigitte Poirson Poetry Contest (BPPC), is named after her.


Kukogho Iruesiri Samson

Chief Executive Officer | Publisher

[email protected] | 08060109295



Leave a Reply