Poets in Nigeria (PIN) is delighted to announce the longlist for the 2017 edition of the Nigerian Students Poetry Prize which closed to submissions on 15th April, 2017.  Poems numbering 725 were received, processed and forwarded to an 8-man judging panel chaired by Professor Akachi Ezeigbo for critical assessment. The longlisted entries with details of their authors are as follows:

  • HOW DO I BEGIN THIS POETRY? – Aremu Adams Adebisi (University of Ilorin, Ilorin)
  • WHY DO PHOTO EDITORS COME WITH A ‘BLUR’ TOOL? – David Egede (Federal University of Technology, Owerri)
  • UNPATRIOTIC – Rotimi Lekan-Afinni (Afe Babalola University, Ado-Ekiti)
  • AIYE – Rafiu Aduragbemi Barnabas (Obafemi Awolowo University, Ile-Ife)
  • SONG OF FREEDOM – Ajah Henry Ekene (University of Benin, Benin City)
  • WEATHERED MIND – Laura Ugbegua Osaremeh (University of Lagos, Lagos)
  • INTO YOUR SHRINE – Oko Owoicho (Benue State University, Makurdi)
  • LANDLORD – Nwabueze Ifeanyichukwu Ikemefuna (University of Ibadan, Ibadan)
  • A MINUTE SILENCE – Steve Joshua Oghenekhogie (University of Ibadan, Ibadan)
  • I HATE – Ekpeki Oghenechovwe (University of Lagos, Lagos)
  • THE BRIDGE – Akodu Oluwaseun Shedrack (Ekiti State University, Ado Ekiti)
  • HOMELESS – Patrick Patrick Utitufon (University of Uyo, Uyo)
  • DILEMMA – Kontein Ibi Mfoniso (Babcock University, Ilishan-Remo)
  • THE PHOENIX – Olabode Segun Michael (University of Ibadan, Ibadan)
  • ELEGIES BY THE MOONLIGHT – Adetuni Abdulrahman Adebowale (University of Ibadan, Ibadan)
  • HALLWAY – Shade Mary-Ann Olaoye (University of Nigeria, Nsukka)
  • BEACH CHRONICLES – Solomon O. Bona (University of Ibadan, Ibadan)
  • ANOVA – Jite-Eda Justice (University of Benin, Benin City)
  • OUR DIMINISHING RETURNS – Olajuwon Joseph Olumide (Yaba College of Technology, Yaba)
  • PLEASE STAY – Okoyomoh Egbekhuwa (University of Benin, Benin City)
  • DAFT-O-DILLS-OUR HOME IS ILL – Oluwatobi Opemipo Precious (Adekunle Ajasin University, Akungba, Akoko)
  • PAIN – Christy Ogbenjuwa (University of Port Harcourt, Port Harcourt)
  • REVOLUTIONARY SONGS – Saleh Hauwa Abubakar (Ahmadu Bello University, Zaria)
  • IRONY OF FATE – Ezeonu Kenechukwu Celestine (Nnamdi Azikiwe University, Awka)
  • LET’S DIE – Olawuyi, Samuel Olakunle (Obafemi Awolowo University, Ile-Ife)
  • REBORN – Sofoluwe Mobolaji Kehinde (University of Ibadan, Ibadan)
  • NIGHT DANCERS – Bilabi Josephmaria Oghenefejiro (University of Benin, Benin City)
  • DEAR SIR – Pat Ashinze (University of Ilorin, Ilorin)
  • BEFORE THE LIGHTS – Obua Joseph Peter (University of Ibadan, Ibadan)
  • TRY YOUR LUCK – Nwagbo Ebubechukwu Bruno (Olabisi Onabanjo University Ago Iwoye)
  • GIANTS – Omotoso Adedayo Olaloluwa (Obafemi Awolowo University, Ile-Ife)
  • BLACK AM I – Christopher Adebiyi (Osun State College of Education, Ila-Orangun)
  • MIXED HISTORY – Bakre Fadil Adedamola (University of Ibadan, Ibadan)
  • TROUBLED MIND – Marvelous Ikpea (Acadia University, Canada)
  • TITANS OF WORDPLAY – Hanamel Kingston Onyxstone Egbe (University of Port Harcourt, Port Harcourt)

A shortlist of 10 poems will be released to the public on 16th June, 2017. The awards ceremony is slated for 17th June, 2017 at Moot Court, Faculty of Law Auditorium, University of Nigeria, Enugu Campus (UNEC) where the top 3 entrants will be rewarded with a total cash prize of ₦200,000 and grandly celebrated alongside past winners.


Kolade Olanrewaju Freedom

Moderator, NSPP 2017


  1. Good to know, Mr moderator unfortunately i did not submit my poem due to over-indulgent in intra-educational activities. Looking up to next edition.

  2. I am impressed by the fact that PIN is genuine. My friend from University of Uyo, Uyo made the list. More power to your elbow organisers. I will make the list next time!

Leave a Reply