Eriata Oribhabor Food Poetry Contest 2015: The Winners

EOFPC 2015 Winners

Having released a shortlist of 10 poems from about 250 entries, we are delighted to announce the top 3 winners for the 3rd edition of Eriata Annual Food Poetry Contest.

  • 1st Prize Winner: Oke-Agbo (For you, Dear Home) – Adedayo Adeyemi Agarau
  • 2nd Prize Winner: Pizza, Two Memories – Archita Mittra
  • 3rd Prize Winner: Iyan Funfun Felele – Aremu Adams Adebisi


On the winning poem, the visibly elated judge, Jumoke Verissimo said:

“Oke Agbo” is a lively poem. The poet’s use of imagery invites the reader to become a part of the poem. Also, the poet’s use of food as a memory of home is made alive with his acute descriptions and lively use of words. Food in itself becomes a home one wants to inhabit. I enjoyed reading this poem”.

The top 3 winners are entitled to cash prizes of ₦40,000 ($200.95), ₦20,000 ($100.48) and ₦10,000 ($50.24) respectively while all shortlisted poems will be awarded certificates of excellence during the awards ceremony scheduled to hold in April, 2016 in Surulere, Lagos, Nigeria.

The success of this edition of the food poetry contest cannot be overemphasized as it supersedes previous editions both quantitatively and qualitatively. We remain committed to promoting the binary fusion of poetic brilliance and culinary skills for societal good.

All winning poems will be subsequently published on Endeavor to subscribe to the highlighted site to receive continuous updates about the contest.

Kolade Olanrewaju Freedom
Moderator: EOFPC 2015

One Reply to “Eriata Oribhabor Food Poetry Contest 2015: The Winners”

Leave a Reply